PDA

View Full Version : MAF Transfer Function Theory...

hioc1098
02-08-2006, 03:02 PM
Help me to understand the MAF transfer function difference between a 90mm LMAF and a Flow Tube. I’m not necessarily new to the game. I was one of the first group of users for the SCT Pro Racer Package (98GT with a Mach I engine transplant). When I was using that, it was fairly simple to change Ford-style MAFs and injectors. All I needed to do was plug in the transfer function of the MAF I was using (typically a 90mm LMAF), plug in the injector value file for whatever injector, and fine tune the curve.

I have zero experience with blow through style MAFs like the Flowtube. However, I’m getting ready to use one with my turbo kit on my 94. It’s my understanding that the MAF will come calibrated to the 42lb injectors I’ll be running. Theoretically, I can just plug them in and run the car, because the MAF’s “calibrated” to the injectors. Obviously, I won’t do that, because the timing will need to be messed with (amongst other things).

Now, here’s the question. If I use my programmer of choice (either Tweecer or SCT), and I input the transfer function provided with the MAF, would it not be starting from the wrong transfer function? In other words, by inputting the 42lb “calibrated” transfer function that’s intended to trick the computer into working with the 42lb injectors, I’ll be working with values that are skewed. In my peanut brain, I’m thinking I’d either need to get the transfer function for a MAF (flowtube) that’s calibrated for 19lb and fine tune the curve like I normally would, or load the injector values for 19lb injectors – definitely not right. Otherwise, it’ll be really off. Am I making any sense? What approach do you take with a transfer function that’s designed to “fool” the computer into working with a different injector size?

Dale McPeters
02-08-2006, 03:09 PM
Since you have the SCT Pro Racers package I would visit the